Soldiers of God
You need to Register to see all the topics we have...

WE ARE A CHRISTIAN CLAN ON XBOX LIVE

HomeHomeSearchRegisterLog in

Welcome to the official website for (SoG) Soldiers of God!

Doozer's 40 Day Journal.

Go down 
AuthorMessage
DoozerisKING
Soldier
Soldier
DoozerisKING

Number of posts : 84
Registration date : 2008-06-05

Doozer's 40 Day Journal. Empty
PostSubject: Doozer's 40 Day Journal.   Doozer's 40 Day Journal. EmptyThu Sep 25, 2008 10:10 pm

God, I am a fraud.

I study to become a Pastor and hope to one day be a theological professor, but I cannot grasp the practical understanding of Christianity. No. It’s not that I “cannot” grasp it, because I understand the practical implications of true Christianity, but I struggle mightily to act on it. I read Scripture and read to better understand Jesus’ commandments. I read differing theologians viewpoints on doctrines and philosophies so that my beliefs are well thought out and personal. I studied Biblical Hebrew and New Testament Greek in order to read the Scriptures in its original context. I strive and hope to be as renowned theologian.

But I am a white washed tomb. I am a scribe and a Pharisee. I teach and tell friends of prayer and its importance in practical Christianity, yet I cannot find a minute to pray. I tell people of fasting and its benefit to our bodies and relationship, yet I cannot fast for six hours. I proclaim worship as a time of intimate connection with God, yet I sing softly and lethargically. I insist on reading the Bible, but I cannot read it without studying for school. I exclaim to love others and treat people like Christ treated people, but I only love myself and put my self-interests before others. Yes, this makes me a Pharisee…a white washed tomb. I am pretty on the outside and I have an abundance of book knowledge, but I am a corrupt soul on the inside…far away from God.